The South

_DSC1623
Scottsdale, Arizona. 2016.

My dad travels twice a year to Arizona to work. He sometimes stays for two months. When he comes back, he talks about the nice weather, how tire he is of Chicago’s brutal winter, how calm, quiet and cheap is Arizona. He invited me several times to spend a week with him, but going to a desert was not that excited for me. Until I decided to go and visit the place. I grew up in a weather like Scottsdale, AZ. The winter was in the 50s, that was cold for me before moving to Chicago. Most of the year, I live with temperatures between 60s and 70s. In addition, I had the Pacific Ocean by my side. Truly..heaven! Visiting a place like Arizona, it brought me so many nice memories about my childhood.

_DSC1616
Cactus in a garden

My parents want to move to Arizona as soon as they can. The dry heat, 70 degree days, fresh air, blue sky and the quietness of the town are appealing, but I wouldn’t live in a place like this, at least not right now. Probably, I would move to a place like Arizona when I have my parents’ age. For now, I prefer the craziness in a big city like Chicago. I would miss Chicago dearly. I had to disappoint my dad and tell him that I cannot move to Arizona. I can promise I can visit them often.

_DSC1613.jpg
A typical small house in Scottsdale, AZ

I will miss the snow, the train, downtown, the diversity of the city (something Scottsdale and I’m sure almost the entire state of AZ lacks), the delicious food from different countries that I have in Chicago, oh! should I mention that it’s very difficult to find a mailbox in Scottsdale?, the coffee culture (there aren’t many independent coffee shops, Starbucks dominates the coffee business), hot dogs, and even good tacos.

_DSC1668.jpg
Arizona, 2016.

I love Arizona, but I belong to Chicago.

Comments are closed.