My first 5K race – 2012 Hot Chocolate 15K/5K

Hot Chocolate 15/5K in Chicago

Last week, Jill said she wanted to try something new and fun in Fall. She moved to Chicago from Texas two months ago to pursue a PhD in Hispanic Literature at University of Illinois at Chicago.

Jill is a fun and energetic person, always looking for opportunities to meet new people and friends. She said she wanted to register to a 5K race in Fall. She was very excited about the idea. When she asked around the class to join her, nobody wanted. Some said it was going to be ‘too cold’, others said ‘it was too intense.’ and others said (including myself) “No, thank you.”

I thought it’d be nice to join Jill, it’d be something new for me as well. So, I took the challenge and told Jill that I would join her! I don’t know what I am doing, I don’t know if I am going to be able to finish. I’m not athletic nor I exercise on regular basis (which I should do). I’ve been training for the last 5 days and it feels great. I am excited to run my first race and happier to do it with Jill.

In addition to my race, I’m raising funds for Ronald McDonald House Charities® Chicagoland and Northwest Indiana (RMHC-CNI). RMHC-CNI provides a ‘home away from home’ for families of pediatric patients being cared for in our partner hospitals, while also pro-actively reaching out to children in need with mobile medical and educational opportunities. RMHC-CNI operates four Ronald McDonald Houses serving more than 22,000 families every year, one Ronald McDonald Family Room located in Edward Hospital, a Ronald McDonald Care Mobile and a vibrant Scholarship program so children can pursue their dreams of a college education.

Help me meet my goal by visiting HERE to make a donation. I appreciate your kindness and donation!

For more information, visit: Hot Chocolate 15K/5K

Leave a Reply

